The Academy of Sun offers rad lesson on new single

“The Academy Of Sun are some of the most exciting musicians currently operating in the UK…. fantastically dedicated, prolific and talented… currently at the height of his creativity” – Stuart Braithwaite, Mogwai

“Nick Hudson…channeling Coil, goes the full Scott Walker” – MOJO Magazine

”A song-suite of liberation, violence and ambition that is rich in promise and dizzying in its potential” – The Quietus

“One of the more intriguing bands out of Brighton… clever, beautiful, ambitious and expansive. Brilliance from the first to final second” – Louder Than War

Brighton-based The Academy of Sun has released their double A-side single ‘It Is Finished When It’s Destroyed / Ghost Foxes’ digitally. Originally induced into the world by Graham Duff‘s sublime vinyl-only imprint Heaven’s Lathe, the label has broken suit by releasing these two new tracks on streaming platforms and online stores for the first time.

RockNRollB - Get Paid to Write - 970x250

This is the first new music from the ‘queer, gnostic, orchestral post-punk’ duo since their ambitious 2020 album ‘The Quiet Earth’. Here, they extend their sonic range into even darker and more cinematic territories.

This release was mixed and mastered by visionary producer Randall Dunn (Thurston Moore, Sunn O))), Danny Elfman, Earth, Mandy OST). Bristling with detail and is truly cinematic in its sweep, ‘It Is Finished When It’s Destroyed’ lyrically vivisects the present horror of UK politics, while ‘Ghost Foxes’ satirizes “conspirituality” in a searing post-punk assault.

“‘Ghost Foxes’ was left off of ‘The Quiet Earth’ because it didn’t sound splenetic enough – with new recordings all round I think it’s accurate to say we’ve now accomplished that aim. Here are some of my most sarcastic, insidious lyrics (once again boasting a Herzog quote). Our guitarist Guy’s pod-racer guitar made our ear lobes pleat with joy when we first heard it,” says Nick Hudson.

“‘It Is Finished When It’s Destroyed’ is amongst my proudest compositions. The title is a mutation of the art adage “art is never finished, only abandoned” (and evolves a premise expressed in a track called ‘Charboy In The Cinders from The Quiet Earth’). It was awesome to work with Randall Dunn, sonic alchemist, this time around, especially as a unifying presence given we forged these tracks during one of many brittle, maddening lockdowns. The modulating B-section with its hissing synths and skittery drums is designed to evoke dizzying, levitational plateaus. If there’s a third record on the horizon this is certainly an indicator of terrains it might explore”.

Formed ten years ago in Brighton, The Academy of Sun is a psychedelic post-punk quartet made up of Nick Hudson (piano, synths, Hammond organ, harmonium, vocals, percussion, synths) and Kianna Blue (bass, synths), Guy Brice (guitars) and Ash Babb (drums).

Their music is centred on the nuanced song-writing and vocals of Nick Hudson, whose work Julian Cope once described as “Bill Nelson singing Scott’s ‘Angels Of Ashes’… highly fucking beautiful in a gazing together into Biba mirrors with smeared lippy kind of manner.”

Nick Hudson’s musical juggernaut has been active since 2012, always transcending expectations. The Academy of Sun has collaborated with Massive Attack’s Shara Nelson, Matthew Seligman (Bowie, Tori Amos, Morrissey), Wayne Hussey (The Mission), Canadian queercore icon GB Jones, members of NYC’s Kayo Dot and David Tibet (Current 93). TAOS has also performed / toured with Mogwai, Toby Driver and Keith Abrams (Kayo Dot) and Timba Harris (Mr Bungle, Amanda Palmer).

Curated by writer, broadcaster and DJ Graham Duff and manufactured by Bladud Flies!, Heaven’s Lathe is dedicated to bringing out the highest quality 7″ singles, releasing one album (limited to a 100 copies) each month on lathe-cut vinyl with engraved centres.  

The Academy of Sun’s new single is available both digitally and on vinyl via Bandcamp. This black hand-numbered high quality stereo vinyl features an engraved Heaven’s Lathe logo, 230gsm sleeve, black inner sleeve and PVC protective sleeve. Also find it digitally via Apple MusicSpotify and Juno Download.

Written by Nick Hudson, arranged by The Academy Of Sun:
Nick Hudson, Guy Brice, Kianna Blue, Ash Babb
Vocals & synths recorded by Nick Hudson at The Lament Configuration.
Bass recorded by Kianna Blue at Alfie Towers.
A side guitars/drums recorded by Joseph Thorpe at Brighton Electric.
B side drums recorded by Paul Pascoe at Church Road Studios, Hove.
A side mixed by Randall Dunn at Circular Ruin Studios NYC.
B side mixed by Paul Pascoe at Church Road Studios Hove.
Mastered by Randall Dunn at Circular Ruin Studios NYC.
Artwork & layout by Ash Babb, Cover painting by Nick Hudson.
All lathe cutting and engineering is by Michael Lawrence.
Design by Lauren Winton (Bladud Flies!)

Keep up with The Academy of Sun
Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Apple Music | Spotify | Booking contact | Press contact


Earn up to $35/hour commenting on facebook - 970x250
Verified by ExactMetrics